شهادات

المرضى

Youssef C5-C6 SCI Treatment - Epidural Stimulation

يوسف

إصابة الحبل الشوكي (C5-C6)

يوسف عمرو عبد الجليل خورشيد، مريض يبلغ من العمر 18 عاما من مصر ، خضع لجراحة التحفيز فوق الجافية مع Unique Access Medical في بانكوك لعلاج إصابة الحبل الشوكي (C5-C6). كسر الفقرة العنقية الخامسة، والتي تسببت له في آلام على مستوى الكتف والرقبة.

وقع الحادث قبل ثلاثة أعوام في الساحل الشمالي في مصر بينما كان على متن قارب سريع. وقال يوسف حول الحادثة: “أردت أن أقفز في الماء لكنني لم أكن أعلم أن الرمال قريبة جدا، وعندما قفزت ارتطم رأسي بالرمال”. ساعدته والدته من خلال البحث في الفيسبوك ، ثم وجدت الحل، وهو علاج التحفيز فوق الجافية.

التحفيز فوق الجافية هو علاج يتم فيه زرع جهاز يتيح إرسال تيارات كهربائية عبر الحبل الشوكي. يتم زرع الأقطاب الكهربائية من خلال عمليّة جراحية ووضعها فوق الطبقة الواقية من الحبل الشوكي. للمريض جهاز تحكم عن بعد يمكّنه من التحكّم بالمحفز لنقل الموجات الكهربائية إلى الحبل الشوكي.

لم يشعر يوسف بأي قلق عندما قرّر الخضوع لعلاج التحفيز فوق الجافية. وقال يوسف واصفا مشاعره في ذلك اليوم، “كانت والدتي متوترة و خائفة لكنني لم أكن خائفا. لم أشعر بشيء – أخذت المخدر ونمت. لقد كنت بحاجة إلى النوم على أية حال”. وأضاف أن العمليّة لم تسبب له أية آثار جانبية، ما عدى تغيّر طفيف على مستوى ضغط الدم.

التقدم الذي أحرزه يوسف

تحسّنت حالة يوسف كثيرا بعد خضوعه لعلاج التحفيز فوق الجافية وقيامه بتمارين إعادة التأهيل مكثفة لمدة ست إلى ثماني ساعات في اليوم. لاحظ يوسف أنه قد أصبح قادرا على تحريك كاحليه منذ اليوم الأول، وقال: “أستطيع أن أقوم بالكثير من الحركات على مستوى ساقيّ وأطرافي السفلية”.

وتجدر الإشارة إلى أن العلاج الوظيفي والعلاج الطبيعي هما أحد أهم مراحل العلاج، إضافة إلى العلاج التحفيزي فوق الجافية الذي كان له دور كذلك في تسريع عملية الشفاء.

وأصبح يوسف قادرا منذ اليوم الأول على التحرك للمرة الأولى منذ سنوات، وهو ما لم يتوقّع حدوثه بمثل هذه السرعة. كما أنّه اٌعجب بحرفية الجرّاح ومهنية الفريق الطبيّ بالمركز. وأضاف “كل المعدّات الطبية هنا حديثة ومتطورة للغاية”.

بالإضافة إلى تلقيه العلاج، فقد سنحت ليوسف الفرصة للقيام برحلة سفاري في تايلاندا وزيارة أهم الحدائق والمحميات. ” كان كل شيء جميلا، لقد استمتعت حقا. إنها المرة الأولى التي أزور فيها تايلاند لكنني كنت أسمع أشياء جميلة عن هذا البلد. كما أن كل الناس مهذبين جدا هنا.”

شاهد المزيد

نتائج تجارب المرضى

Patient

Testimonials

Youssef C5-C6 SCI Treatment - Epidural Stimulation

Youssef

 C5-C6 Spinal Cord Injury

Youssef Amr Abdelgalil Khorshed, an 18-year-old patient from Egypt, underwent Epidural Stimulation Surgery with Unique Access Medical in Bangkok to treat C5-C6 Spinal Cord Injury. He broke his fifth cervical which caused him pain in the shoulders and his neck.

The accident occurred three years ago in the North Coast of Egypt as he was on a speedboat. “I wanted to jump in the water but I didn’t know that the sand was really close, so I jumped and hit my head on the sand,” he said. His mother helped him by researching on Facebook, where she found about Epidural Stimulation Treatment.

Epidural Stimulation is a treatment where the spinal cord is implanted with a device that enable electrical currents to be sent through the spinal cord. The electrodes are surgically implanted and placed over the spinal cord’s protective coating. The patient has a remote which controls the stimulator to transmit electrical waves into the spinal cord.

He didn’t recall any nervousness during the procedure where he had to undergo surgery to attach the stimulation device. “My mother was nervous, she was afraid but I wasn’t afraid. I didn’t feel anything- I took the anesthetic and slept. I needed to sleep anyway. So it went well,” he said of his feelings that day. He added that there were no side effects and no fever except a change in blood pressure.

Youssef’s Progress

After the Epidural Stimulation Surgery and intense rehabilitation for six to eight hours a day, he improved a lot. Youssef noticed that on the first day, he could move his ankles up. “There’s a lot of movements in my legs and my lower limb,” he said.

Occupational therapy and physiotherapy was a big part of the recovery, besides the Epidural Stimulation Treatment and his favorite exercise was the core and trunk exercises which he found helpful.

From the first day, Youssef recalled being able to move for the first time in years which was something he said he couldn’t imagine himself doing. He found the surgeon professional and found all the staff helpful and friendly. “They’ve got very advanced equipments,” he added.

Besides, he also got to experience a bit of Thailand travelling to the Safari World and visiting the park. “It was really beautiful, I really enjoyed it. It’s the first time in Thailand but I heard great stuff about the country. The people are very polite.”

Watch More

Patient Outcome Stories